Thirty-eight states now ban texting while driving. Does your state? Know the rules and save yourself fines. Texting while driving is dangerous. Anything that distracts you from driving is potentially dangerous to you, your passengers and all others on the roadways. No text is worth your life of the live of another. Use a headset to talk and text if needed but stop trying to punch the keys and navigate the roadway. It just can't be done safely.
Here is an article from the latest issue of CCJ regarding texting and driving:
Alabama on Tuesday, May 8, became the 38th state to prohibit texting behind the wheel by all drivers. The new law signed by Gov. Robert Bentley takes effect on Aug. 1, and violators will be fined $25 for a first offense, $50 for a second offense and $75 for a third or subsequent offense.
“With Governor Bentley’s signature, now more than three-quarters of all states outlaw one of the riskiest behaviors behind the wheel – texting and driving,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood. “Alabama roads and motorists will be safer as a result of this law, which reminds everyone that we cannot ignore the potentially life-altering dangers associated with text messaging and driving.”
Alabama and 37 other states, the District of Columbia, Guam and the Virgin Islands ban text messaging by all drivers. Ten states, the District of Columbia, Guam and the Virgin Islands prohibit all handheld cell phone use while driving.